Debate is masculine, conversation is feminine. – Amos Bronson Alcott. WWC 06/12/06

12 06 2006

Its time for the Weekend Words Challenge from Mr. Odd himself over at The Odd Mix.
For my first time I got some tough words… Masculine and Feminine.
What to do? I went for a walk in search of something to photograph only to find not much that inspired me. Then I saw an old railing, all rusted and wiry that made me think.Heaven forbid I do any of that!

I started to think of the words as more abstract, rather than the typical image of a man or woman. Now I was on the hunt for something that would say what I wanted it to say. I am pleased to announce that I finally did, yeah for me!🙂

Without further ado, here are my WWC Photos –

Masculine

My feelings about what is masculine – Stands alone while holding others up. Unflinching, remains the same and never shows the wear.

Feminine


Again what I feel about Femininity – Holds others up but becomes part of everyone she helps. Allows others to support her when needed. Shows some signs of wear but the foundation is strong.

BQotD from MamaSutra
*I’ve committed myself to a marathon. Ha ha, you thought I meant running! *


Actions

Information

15 responses

12 06 2006
Chelle

Superb examples. Excellent angles, choice of colour and subject matter. You have kicked our butts! Sure hope you play again.

12 06 2006
Shna

wow, thanks chelle🙂 I can’t wait to play next week!

12 06 2006
Jay

WOW! Great pics. You put some great thought into the words and did a great job interpreting them.

12 06 2006
graymama

I love that the masculine shot literally is a man made structure, and the feminine shot is made from mother earth🙂 Nice pics!

12 06 2006
Shna

Thanks Jay, I had a lot of fun trying to find the right photo🙂

Thank you graymama, that’s something I thought of but couldn’t put into words🙂

12 06 2006
Hedder

Very deep Shan, I love the descriptors!

12 06 2006
OddMix

Very well done! My wife loved them too.

Thanks for saying.

12 06 2006
Tink

I love the Symbology. It’s exactly what I would have chosen for the elemental aspects of male and female. Great job!

12 06 2006
Susan

Oh my. I love your interpretation. These are wonderful.

I played.

12 06 2006
Catez

Very interesting. I thought of dying and living when I looked at the photos. The gender metaphors are thought provoking.
My first time visiting. You know those little things you put on your blog and you wonder if anyone notices, like “another unprovoked attack from Shna”? LOL. I noticed.

12 06 2006
MamaSutra

I will chime in with the praise of your photos. I am not a very visual person (can’t draw, have a hard time making the word-image leap), but you have done something here that makes sense to me, speaks to me if you will. Well done! (And thanks for quoting me!)

12 06 2006
Lucky Lum

love the symbols for the words!
I played today too.

12 06 2006
Shna

Hedder – Thanks so much🙂

OddMix- I am glad you liked them, this is a great thing you have going on here. Can’t wait for next weekend🙂

Tink – Thanks!
Susan – Thank you too🙂

Catez – Finally someone noticed🙂

MamaSutra – Thank you and you are welcome for the quote🙂

Lucky Lum – Thank you🙂

13 06 2006
nettie

What a cool challenge.

13 06 2006
Shna

Nettie you should play! Its really fun🙂

Leave a Reply

