The woman must bear children and the man must be tattooed.

11 05 2006

A post about Tattoos.

I have always been fascinated by tattoos. My mother has 3 tiny dots, all failed attempts at actually getting a tattoo. For as a long as I can remember I have wanted one.
The summer I was 17, about a week before school started my friend JBone and I went to get tattoos. That morning we had been talking about them and I thought we should just bite the bullet and go. I told my parents that I was going to get a tattoo and they just laughed.
I had a car, we had money, and we were both equipped with a healthy sense of adventure. We had to drive an hour to get to the “big city”. Once we got there we realized that we couldn’t find the tattoo place! So we called them from the car and talked to a guy who told us the correct street and that he would be “the skinny bastard” standing on the corner. Off we went, we see a guy who could be our man, so we yell out the window “Hey! Are you the skinny bastard?”
He smiles, turns away and walks to the parlor.
We park and make our way in. Once there we realize that we are not legal age for this and for sure we do not have parental consent. What are we to do?
We talk to the skinny bastard, who turns out to be the piercer, who doesn’t ask for ID but gives us the forms and turns away while we fill them out.
There we are, JBone and I, trying to figure out what year we need to be born for this to work…should we just go one year back? After all I am 17. But wait, JBone is actually 16, her birthday is not till September. We stand there debating whether it would be more realistic to go one year or two and finally settle on one for me and two for JBone because she looks older anyway.
Then the decision…what to get? JBone has an idea already she just needs to pick a design, but I have come unprepared. I start to look at the designs and am immediately struck by one.
In art class the previous year we had held an art show where we had to post our names by our work. I had printed mine from the computer but wanted something to go with it. I looked through a few art books and found a couple of pictures that I liked, one of which was a frog.
I saw that same frog on the wall at the tattoo parlour that day.
We got our tattoos and went away saying that we were satisfied, that was all we needed.
Fast forward to now when we have 7 between us, and plans for many more.

That long story leads up to a question.

  • Do you, my loverly reader, have any tattoos?
  • Why did you get them?
  • Do you want more?

Please do tell!

BQotD from Shatnerian
*Mmm…bacteria*


Actions

Information

9 responses

11 05 2006
Anonymous

Yes my dear sister, I have 2 tatoos and I like them a lot.This is not what I want to tell you about. I want to tell you about our dork of a little sister and what she did at work. It was slow-she was bored-she made a list-she called it “guys I have a crush on”-she then proceeded to list all the guys at work she has a crush on.This would not be so bad in itself, but our sister then signed her name on it and left it laying on top of the garbadge can, where 2 of the other waitresses found it. I have trained them well and they imediately came and told me about this and now the teasing has begun!!!!!!You must tease her as well- one guy she had listed as sketchy guy.The rest, she put their full names. What a dork!!!!!
Love Kim

11 05 2006
lyn

well in my defense i was really bored…and i don’t usually make such ridiculous lists…however when making it i did believe that no one else would ever lay eyes on it!! and i did put it in the garbage…i had no idea it was right on the top…..so shut up…..that is all

11 05 2006
lyn

and it wasn’t just guys at work…it was all the guys in the world..only 2 from work

11 05 2006
Anonymous

That makes no difference you dork!SHNA,YOU CAN BACK ME UP AND TELL HER SHE IS A DORK.i MUST SAY THOUGH, THAT IT IS QUITE FUNNY AND i WILL ENJOY THIS LIST FOR MANY YEARS TO COME. DID I MENTION THAT THE GIRL WHO FOUNDIT,KEPT IT? SO I COULD PRODUCE IT AT ANY TIME-FAMILY FUNCTIONS ,LIKE,OH I DON’T KNOW MAYBE A COUSINS WEDDING OR THE LAST SUPPER!!! WHAT DO YOU THINK SHAN?
KIM

11 05 2006
Shna

Lyn, Kim is correct you are a dork.

Kim, I must see this list! I will be at the last supper and I think during dinner would be a great time to show me.

To everyone else – why does no one answer my questions? Am I talking to myself?

12 05 2006
Anonymous

shna, is this not the funniest story ever?Your youngest sister is a dork!Thank God we are cool!!!!!
Kim
P.S. I have to work with her!!

12 05 2006
Anonymous

shna, is this not the funniest story ever?Your youngest sister is a dork!Thank God we are cool!!!!!
Kim
P.S. I have to work with her!!

12 05 2006
Anonymous

I dont’t know why that came up twice- my only excuse is that I have had many beer and cooler.
kim

12 05 2006
lyn

you drunkin fool!! stop making fun of me….i am sure you will do something embarrassing soon and i will be there lurking in the corner…documenting your every move…only to reinact it at inappropriate times…like church and family gatherings….

Leave a Reply

